Everyone loves to go abroad to get some sun.

Most of the time it’s with friends or family but this year especially has been a difficult one to say the least.

It’s nothing to do with natural disasters, like hurricanes or tsunamis it’s to do with us humans.

Terrorism and people causing fear is now always going to be in the back of our minds when it comes to paying out hundreds of pound to fly abroad for a week or two but even paying that much, can it buy you a peace of mind?

When looking in to this, tourism has plummeted due to attacks all around the world.

For example, the once popular resort of Sharm el-Sheikh has seen a decline of nearly 50 percent in the number of tourists visiting since the horrific terror alerts last year even causing British Airways and Easy jet, both leading airlines, to stop or cancel certain flights to the country.

Even one of the world’s top tourist destinations, Paris, has suffers a 7% fall in visitor numbers which may not seem a huge number but it’s defiantly noticeable to their economy with a loss of one billion euros of income since January 2016.

I went to talk to a holiday maker to see how this issue has effected them and their holidays in the future.

I talked to Danielle Mellor (26), a holiday maker who went traveling for four months including Japan, Hong Kong, Thailand and Australia, I asked her if she felt safe or under threat about the reason terrorism attacks.

Danielle said “no not really, I think it was mainly down to me traveling in Asia, if I was in Europe I would have been.”

I then went on to ask if she had been in Europe how would she have felt, she said “uneasy but I refuse to let them control where we go that’s what they want, they try and control us with fear.”

After speaking to someone who isn’t that bothered and still standing strong when it comes to traveling the world I went and talked to someone who is a little more cautious about traveling.

I asked Abbie Clayton (21), an early child care student from Sheffield the same question.

She said “for me it depends who I go with because if I went with someone like my nan I would feel right on edge because I’m the one who would have to protect her.”

Abbie added “If I went with my boyfriend, I would feel calm and relaxed because I know he would be there to protect me.”

13335093964_5bfdf56d33_b